Placenta Processing – Raw Smoothies

 

Honoring the Placenta

The placenta is a magical organ that doesn’t belong to the mother or the baby.  As I process the placenta, I want to take some time to honor it.  I will sage around it with intentions of clearing any energy that doesn’t need to be captured into the placenta during processing.

The Maternal side

This  is the side that is attached to the uterus.  This is literally attached to the mother’s uterus.  It is interwoven with her circulatory system.  It extracts oxygen, blood, and nutrients from the mother’s circulatory system and provides it to the baby via a super special cord connection.

The baby's side

This is the side the baby “sees”!  This is the side that has the tree of life image on it.

4 pieces to make 4 smoothies

Katie rocks.  For some reason I get a visceral reaction when cutting up a fresh placenta.  It’s gotta smell for sure!  Katie just chopped it up without hesitation.  I’m sure the more I do it the less my body will respond in that way!  I’d wonder if my body was responding that way because the placenta came from a birth I attended, but I have processed one with Katie from a birth she attended and I got the same visceral response.  Holy shit!  I just realized that the only 2 placentas Katie and I processed as of this writing is the placenta from her unplanned home birth and now the placenta from my unplanned home birth!  Weird!

The tree of life seen in placentas (not my picture)

Smoothie Magic

1/2 cup of Vanilla Rice Milk, 1/2 cup of Strawberry yogurt (you can totally use coconut vs dairy yogurt too), 1 cup frozen strawberries and 1 cup of blackberries, 1 tablespoon of  honey, and one of the chunks of placenta per smoothie.

A little of it all

Some of the ingredients, a blender, 2 jars already full of smoothie, 1 smoothie blending as the photo was taken and 1 chunk of placenta left for the last smoothie!

4 raw placenta smoothies

Smoothies ready for consumption!  Katie tried to to make sure it tasted OK.  She is amazing!  I thought I’d be able to try it… after all the chopping and processing, I just decided I would be tasting it to be cool 🙂  not because I really fricking wanted to.  So to be honest, when she offered, I respectfully declined!  Ahh!

The recommendation (for this client) is one smoothie per day for 4 days in a row.

~ by 2DoulasOnAMisson on June 7, 2011.

Leave a comment